X LAB

The X LAB at ICoM

Collaboration | Simulation | Training

With the X LAB, the Institute of Construction Management and Digital Engineering has excellent equipment for the visualization and validation of digital process models. The X LAB consists of the Co LAB for the simulation of processes and the VR LAB for the visualization of digital, three-dimensional models. The combination of both facilities enables practical research on current and future-oriented topics.

Collaboration | Simulation | Training

With the X LAB, the Institute of Construction Management and Digital Engineering has excellent equipment for the visualization and validation of digital process models. The X LAB consists of the Co LAB for the simulation of processes and the VR LAB for the visualization of digital, three-dimensional models. The combination of both facilities enables practical research on current and future-oriented topics.


THE VIRTUAL REALITY LAB

© FBG/C.Bierwagen
© FBG/C.Bierwagen

With the VR LAB, the institute operates a laboratory which corresponds to the current state of the art in both hardware and software. In addition to the pure VR projection via five high performance projectors with an interactive wall/floor projection, the laboratory has a tracking system with four infrared cameras, which can recognize different tools (glasses, flystick and other definable tools) in space and thus enable interaction of the user with the model.

In addition to a master pair of glasses, other Head Mounted Displays can be connected to the VR environment in the Lab, so that several participants can work on a model in the same environment at the same time. Coordinates are transmitted via the alignment of the tracked glasses to an institute's own high-performance computer, which supplies the corresponding image material for the respective position.

The wall and floor projection allows the user to immerse himself in an immersive experience and enjoy the digital model realistically.

Application

  • Virtual Design Reviews (project reviews on the model)
  • Training opportunities for numerous professional fields
  • Audio-visual simulations

Do you have your very own use case, would you like to conduct a virtual design review of your construction project or impressively demonstrate the current planning model to the client?

At VR LAB we offer workshops for industrial partners, research institutes and institutions. Please feel free to contact us!


THE COLLABORATION LAB

© FBG/C.Bierwagen
© FBG/C.Bierwagen

The interdisciplinary collaboration of the various project participants is simulated role-based at the workstations of the Co LAB arranged in groups. At the cooperative workstations it is possible to simulate the collaboration and the processes during project development via planning, construction, documentation, operation and dismantling. Each discipline involved is assigned to a workstation group. Due to the IT-technical networking of the groups, simulation possibilities are very diverse; for example, the different information technological conditions of local conditions are simulated.

A specific practical case here is the digital cooperation between the planning offices involved in the project, the architect, the construction company and the client.

Applications

 

  • Project Kick-Off Workshops
  • Training of interdisciplinary digital collaboration
  • Inspiration workshops

You have your very own use case, want to get your BIM project on the right track at the beginning or want to inspire employees of your organization with the BIM workflow?

At Co LAB, we offer workshops for industrial partners, research institutes and institutions. Please feel free to contact us!

Das X LAB am ICoM

Kollaboration | Simulation | Training

Das Institut für Baumanagement und Digitales Bauen verfügt mit dem X LAB über eine exzellente Ausstattung zur Visualisierung und Validierung digitaler Prozessmodelle. Das X LAB setzt sich dabei zum einen aus dem Co LAB zur Simulation von Prozessen und zum anderen aus dem VR LAB zur Visualisierung digitaler, dreidimensionaler Modelle zusammen. Die Kombination beider Einrichtungen ermöglicht eine praxisnahe Forschung an aktuellen und zukunftsweisenden Themen.

Kollaboration | Simulation | Training

Das Institut für Baumanagement und Digitales Bauen verfügt mit dem X LAB über eine exzellente Ausstattung zur Visualisierung und Validierung digitaler Prozessmodelle. Das X LAB setzt sich dabei zum einen aus dem Co LAB zur Simulation von Prozessen und zum anderen aus dem VR LAB zur Visualisierung digitaler, dreidimensionaler Modelle zusammen. Die Kombination beider Einrichtungen ermöglicht eine praxisnahe Forschung an aktuellen und zukunftsweisenden Themen.


DAS VIRTUAL REALITY LAB

© FBG/C.Bierwagen
© FBG/C.Bierwagen

Das Institut betreibt mit dem VR LAB ein Labor, welches dem aktuellen Stand der Technik sowohl im Bereich der Hardware als auch der Software entspricht. Neben der reinen VR-Projektion über fünf Hochleistungsprojektoren mit einer interaktiven Wand-/Bodenprojektion verfügt das Labor über ein Trackingsystem mit vier Infrarotkameras, die verschiedene Tools (Brille, Flystick und andere definierbare Werkzeuge) im Raum erkennen können und dadurch eine Interaktion des Nutzers mit dem Modell ermöglichen.

Neben einer Masterbrille können im Lab weitere Head Mounted Displays mit der VR Umgebung verbunden werden, sodass auch mehrere Teilnehmer gleichzeitig an einem Modell in der gleichen Umgebung arbeiten können. Über die Ausrichtung des Kopfes und der Brille werden Koordinaten an einen institutseigenen Hochleistungsrechner übermittelt, der für den jeweiligen Standpunkt das zugehörige Bildmaterial liefert. 

Durch die Wand- und Bodenprojektion kann der Nutzer in ein immersives Erlebnis eintauchen und das digitale Modell realitätsnah erleben. 

Anwendungsfälle

  • Virtual Design Reviews (Projektbesprechungen am Modell)
  • Trainingsmöglichkeiten für zahlreiche Berufsfelder
  • Audio-Visuelle Simulationen

 

Sie haben Ihren ganz eigenen Anwendungsfall, möchten ein Virtual Design Review Ihres Bauprojekts durchführen oder dem Bauherren eindrücklich das aktuelle Planungsmodell vorführen?

Im VR LAB bieten wir Workshops für Industriepartner, Forschungsinstitute und Institutionen an, kommen Sie gerne auf uns zu!


DAS COLLABORATION LAB

© FBG/C.Bierwagen
© FBG/C.Bierwagen

An den in Gruppen angeordneten Workstations des Co LABs wird rollenbasiert die interdisziplinäre Kollaboration der verschiedenen Projektbeteiligten simuliert. An den kooperativen Workstations wird es ermöglicht, die Kollaboration und die Prozesse bei der Projektentwicklung über die Planung, Bauausführung, Dokumentation, den Betrieb und den Rückbau nachzustellen. Jede beteiligte Fachdisziplin wird dabei einer Workstation Gruppe zugeordnet. Durch die IT-technische Vernetzung der Gruppen sind Simulationsmöglichkeiten sehr vielfältig; simuliert werden beispielsweise die unterschiedlichen informationstechnologischen Bedingungen von örtlichen Gegebenheiten.

Ein konkreter Praxisfall ist hier die digitale Zusammenarbeit zwischen den am Projekt beteiligten Planungsbüros, dem Architekten, der Baufirma und des Bauherrn. 

Anwendungsfälle

  • Projekt Kick-Off Workshops
  • Training der interdisziplinären digitalen Kollaboration
  • Begeisterungsworkshops

 

Sie haben Ihren ganz eigenen Anwendungsfall, möchten Ihr BIM-Projekt zu Beginn auf den richtigen Weg bringen oder Mitarbeiter Ihrer Organisation vom BIM-Workflow begeistern?

Im Co LAB bieten wir Workshops für Industriepartner, Forschungsinstitute und Institutionen an, kommen Sie gerne auf uns zu!